“Out of Office”

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

And so here I am. Sitting in the Number 1 Lounge at Heathrow (courtesy of Stevie) at the very start of my grandest adventure yet. Marginally (OK massively) terrified and occasionally questioning why on earth I am doing this by myself, but here nonetheless.   In keeping with airport tradition, I have my glass of Sauvignon Blanc (it’s 5 o’clock somewhere right?), I have checked at least a thousand times that I still have my passport and boarding pass and I’m praying to the travel Gods (assuming there is one) that I’m not in the middle seat or stuck next to some screaming child for he next 14 hours.

My bags are packed after multiple attempts and asking myself a thousand times “how am I going to pack 9 months worth of stuff into one backpack, that I can carry?”  I am, after all, that girl who packs 27 outfits and wildly inappropriate footwear for one weekend away – just in case.  Even I can’t believe I’ve not packed a single pair of heels. Must be getting sensible in my old age!!
My “Out of Office” has been set for 12 whole months and there really is no greater feeling….for me or Blue Squad who are probably sick to death of hearing me counting down my shifts or what flight or adventure I have booked this week.  Thanks for always having my back guys and being great people to work with.  I’ll be back in a year but  I shall miss our squad dos, late night Disney quizzes, diet debates and pizza runs.  In other news, I hear Tina has a grandson and Mike a new bathroom? 🙂

As I sit here waiting to leave, I wonder what I have done to be so fortunate to be in this position to be able to realise my lifelong dream of travelling the world. Sure, this past year has been a shitty one, but also one of the best! And if I’ve learned just one thing from it, it’s that I can make it through anything.  So, with that in mind – I’m off.  For 9 months. On my own. Eeeek! But hey, isn’t that what life is all about? Being present, living every moment, taking these opportunities while we can?  People often ask me why I’m doing this or if I’m terrified and the answer is yes – I am. Completely and utterly terrified. I’ve stressed, I’ve lost sleep and I’ve considered not going.  Then I’ve had a word with myself and realised that the thought of not doing this and missing out on the opportunity is far worse.

Stop 1: The Philippines 🇵🇭

28 days of sun, sea and magical island adventures.  The Philippines has long been at the top of my bucket list for no other reason than that it looks like one of the most beautiful places I have ever…Googled.

One thought on ““Out of Office”

Leave a Reply

